Jacobs Crawley

One on One with the Wrangler NFR Contestants – Jacobs Crawley is our reigning world champion in the saddle bronc riding. Growing up, he competed in all of the events in various youth organizations. He earned the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association saddle bronc riding title in 2011, the same year he qualified for his first NFR and he hasn’t missed a trip since.

Favorite movie: Junior Bonner would probably be my all-time favorite movie.

Favorite current TV show: Sports Center

Dogs or cats: Dogs – Jack Russell to be exact.

Favorite dessert: White chocolate macadamia nut cookies with coffee.

Favorite board game: Monopoly without a doubt. I love play money and trying to take over.

Favorite sport, other than rodeo: I like watching UFC or boxing – Connor McGregor is pretty awesome right now. He’s cool because of some of the intellectual things that he says. He is inspirational and motivational and has things to say that are universal to any sport.

If you weren’t in rodeo, what would you be doing: I would be a project manager on a big construction site or be a real estate broker. Use my degree. (Jacobs earned his bachelor’s in industrial systems engineering from Texas A&M University. His first NFR qualification was in 2011 and he had to hurry back to College Station, Texas, for his graduation ceremony.)

 Best childhood memory: All of my experiences at youth rodeos. I competed in all of the events – one time at the AJRA (American Junior Rodeo Association), I won five saddles.

Best gift you ever received: The engagement ring that Lauren’s grandmother gave to me to propose with. (Jacobs and Lauren Cox got married last May.)

Favorite thing you like about Las Vegas: Other than the NFR, the food. I eat outstanding there – go out a lot and get food that I wouldn’t typically eat. More sushi than I could ever imagine. After the performance we always find some place to go. The BRAND steakhouse in the Monte Carlo is somewhere that we always go to at least once.

Historical figure you’d most like to meet: Teddy Roosevelt would be pretty awesome. He did it all from Military experience to being President and the country was still a “frontier.”

What do you like to do in your spare time: Work out, work on my place. If we are at a rodeo and we are hanging out, you will see guitars come out.

 My role model is: Dale Brisby – my college roommate – we had bunk beds. I love his confidence in any situation.

What would people be surprised to learn about you: How much I work on my mental game – in and out of the arena – personal and spiritual growth is something I’m always working on it.

Best travel partner: As long as we are both competing, I will travel with Sterling. We are as close as brothers could be.

Any characters in your family: Pretty much everyone in my family is a character. My great grandmother was a gypsy. She ran away from home at 13 and joined the traveling circus. She died when I was 12 – she watched us after school, lived in fifth wheel behind my grandmother’s house. She wore lots of jewelry and told stories – spoke Gypsy it was a different vocabulary.

Leave a Reply

