Joe Frost is a two-time Wrangler National Finals Rodeo (WNFR) qualifier from Randlett, Utah. He joined the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association in 2013 and less than a year later was competing at rodeo’s championships. He finished as the reserve world champion. That same year, he won the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association title and qualified for the 2015 RAM National Circuit Finals where he took the title. He is a cousin of the late World Champion Bull Rider Lane Frost.

Joe graduated from Panhandle State University in Goodwell, Okla., last June and this is the first year that he hasn’t been juggling school and rodeo schedules. He has been to a lot of rodeos this year that he hadn’t been to before, but now is going to miss at least three months of action. While he was at Rodeo Houston, a bull stepped on his thigh. He has a blood clot and is on blood thinners and hopes to return to competition at the Reno Rodeo.

The 2014 Linderman Award winner also competes in tie-down roping and steer wrestling. His younger brother Josh rides bulls and is a talented roper as well. Last year, Joe finished sixth in the world standings and is closing in on half a million dollars in career earnings. As of April 1st, he was second in the bull riding standings.

Favorite movie: I have a lot of favorites, but probably Lonesome Dove. If you’ve seen it you know why, it’s a really good movie that portrays a lot of the values I try to live my life by.

 Favorite current TV show: I don’t really watch any current TV. I tend to watch Gunsmoke, The Andy Griffith Show or Bonanza. Last current one I watched was “Younger,” because Kylee watches it.

Dogs or cats: Definitely dogs.

Horses or Bulls: Bulls are definitely my habit.

Favorite dessert: I try not to eat that many desserts, but I do love carrot cake and have a hard time turning that down.

Favorite board game: We don’t play many board games, but my family and Kylee’s family are always playing cards. Our go to game is Nertz.

Favorite sport, other than rodeo: I don’t really follow any other sports – I really am a rodeo fan and pay attention to what’s going on in the other events.

If you weren’t in rodeo, what would you be doing: I don’t really know. I guess I’d probably be going to medical school or law school. The only way I wouldn’t be involved in rodeo would be if I had grown up in a completely different lifestyle and didn’t know anything about it.

Best childhood memory: I was probably 9 or 10 years old and I was having a lot of trouble riding calves. My dad was getting aggravated and we had one calf that was bigger than the rest. He rode it to the other end of the arena. When I saw that he could do it that inspired me. The next time I got on that calf, I rode it farther than he did.

Best gift you ever received: My family – I consider each one of them a special gift.

Favorite thing you like about Las Vegas: Absolutely the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo. The history and tradition of being a rodeo cowboy lies in the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. There is nothing like the WNFR and we have something extremely special. A world title is a culmination of doing well all season and having success during 10 nights in Vegas. There is nothing else like that in any sport, and I’ve dreamed about it since I was just a kid. There is so much excitement built around the Finals and there is nowhere else like Las Vegas. It’s an exciting place where you can experience a lot of cultures in one location. That’s where I found out I like sushi. I’ve been able to try a lot of different food there.

Historical figure you’d most like to meet: I would really like to meet Jim Shoulders. He was somebody that my grandpa and uncle Clyde rodeod with. He was our sports’ first big star.

What do you like to do in your spare time: I don’t have a lot of spare time, if I’m not rodeoing or home taking care of my cows, you could probably find me doing leatherwork or building a bull rope.

My role model is: I’ve got so many. The biggest would be Lane Frost and my grandpa, dad and uncle Clyde. There are a lot of people that I really look up to and I try to take the best from each one of them and incorporate that into my life.

What would people be surprised to learn about you: When I am on the road I listen to a lot of audio books. I’m an auctioneer as well. On April 2nd I’m going to be helping with an equipment auction.

Best travel partner: Cody Teel – he’s a got a really good attitude and our mindset as far as bull riding seems to be the same. He’s somebody that makes me ride better when I’m around him. When your competition is sitting right next to you it brings out the best in you.

Music: I like a lot of older classic country. Merle Haggard, Glen Campbell and Waylon Jennings.

Favorite Bucking Bull: There are a lot of bulls I really like. One of my favorites would be Bottle Rocket of Mike Corey’s. He really bucks and was the bull that I won the fifth round of the WNFR in 2014 and that was the night that Craig Latham (Frost’s rodeo coach at Oklahoma Panhandle State University) showed up.

Any relationship news we should know about: I’ve been dating Kylee Cahoy for over a year now. I couldn’t ask to have anyone in my life who would be more supportive. She helps me to be a better person all-around. I can’t thank her enough.

How did you get your middle name Ferd: I’m named after my grandpa – my dad’s dad. My great-grandfather had a friend in Fort Smith, Ark., who was named Ferd Owens who was a horse trader. My great-grandfather named my grandpa Joe Ferd Frost.

Follow Joe Frost

facebook logo png@Joe_FrostFevertwitter logojoefrostfanpage

 

 

Leave a Reply

