Jojo Lemond

JoJo Lemond’s fourth Wrangler National Finals Rodeo (NFR) qualification did not happen the way he wanted it to. Less than a week before rodeo’s championships, Jake Barnes was practicing at home with his partner Junior Noguiera. Jake’s horse fell causing a traumatic brain injury and broken ankle which kept him from competing. Jojo was in 16th place at the time and was called to replace Jake.

Watching Jojo and Junior rope together was electric. Fans were behind them and their styles seemed to complement each other perfectly. They were among several ropers that were in contention for a gold buckle up to the 10th round. That was the first steer that Jojo missed and one that he will remember forever.“I hate it for Junior,” Jojo said. “I wanted that gold buckle for him. If I had it to do all over again, I’d do it just the same, I’d just hope for a different outcome.”

“I hate it for Junior,” Jojo said. “I wanted that gold buckle for him. If I had it to do all over again, I’d do it just the same, I’d just hope for a different outcome.”Coming that close to his own world championship – he finished third in the standings – lit a fire in the Andrews, Texas,

Coming that close to his own world championship – he finished third in the standings – lit a fire in the Andrews, Texas, cowboy that a truckload of water couldn’t put out. He may be the comeback kid of team roping. He had three consecutive NFR qualifications from 2008 – 2010 then took a break to spend more time with his family.

In 2009 he also suffered a minor stroke, and got bit by a rattlesnake. In 2011, he watched as fire took part of his West Texas ranch. Jojo can do just about anything with a rope. He started his career in the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association as a heeler. He has also roped calves and has two qualifications (2013 – 2015) to the Clem McSpadden National Finals Steer Roping. Another highlightof 2015 was winning the all-around championship at Cheyenne Frontier Days.

There is never a dull moment around the Lemonds whether they are at home or going to rodeos. His family is on the road with him most of the time. When they load up the trailer it is a menagerie that includes horses, dogs, his wife Blair, sons Newt and Gunnar and daughter Shaylee.

Favorite movie: Lonesome Dove

Favorite current TV show: I don’t watch much television, although I do watch The Voice with my wife sometimes.

Dogs or cats: Dogs – Definitely dogs. I have a big black dog named Clyde and we have a Chihuahua named Tater Tot that goes with us a lot. I have some working dogs that are really good with cattle.

Horses or cattle: Horses

Favorite dessert: Key lime pie

Favorite board or card game: Texas Hold ‘Em

Favorite sport, other than rodeo: Baseball

If you weren’t in rodeo, what would you be doing: Ranching

Best gift you ever received: My wife and kids.

Favorite thing you like about Las Vegas: Without a doubt, the NFR and the money that we get to rope out there.

Historical figure you’d most like to meet: John Wayne

What do you like to do in your spare time: I ride colts, both for customers and personal use. I probably ride about eight to 10 horses every day when I’m at home. Right now we probably have 40 head of horses in pens that we’ve been riding.

What would you do if you won the lottery: I probably wouldn’t change anything that I’m doing, I’d just do it with a lot less stress. I’d pay off all of my bills and give some money to charity. I’d like to help orphanages and do something to create jobs.

My role model is: Jesus Christ – My rodeo role models would be Phil Lyne and Ed Workman. They worked every end of the arena and are cowboys through and through.

What would people be surprised to learn about you: That I’m scared of little nasty critters.

Best roping partner: Randon Adams – We got along so well and have become great friends. We did well together roping, and we built a bond and friendship that has extended outside of the arena.

Music: I don’t listen to much, but I like traditional country music and my wife has me hooked on contemporary Christian. I usually drive with the radio off, but when it comes to music, I’m a George Strait, Alan Jackson, George Jones kind of guy.

Best horse you’ve ever ridden: My team roping horse Bull “Freckles Wilson,” because of what I’ve gotten to accomplish on him. I started my rodeo career on him. He’s done everything I’ve ever asked him to from Vegas to Cheyenne. He’s been awesome.

Best thing about being a dad: The Love and passion that you learn and get to share with your kids. Watching them grow up and become little adults. Everything is great about it.

Where did the name Jojo come from: My dad and uncle gave me that as a young boy. I think my dad didn’t really liked my real name (Jody). He started calling me Joe and that became JoJo.

Follow Jojo Lemond

twitter logoJoJoLemond

Leave a Reply

