Lisa Lockhart

Barrel racer Lisa Lockhart is a nine-time Wrangler National Finals Rodeo qualifier and two-time reserve world champion. While she has finished second in the Women’s Professional Rodeo Association the past two years, she is first in the hearts of her family, friends, and fans.

She and her horse buckskin Quarter Horse, An Oakie With Cash, have been among the most consistent duos in the Thomas and Mack Center. The 13-year-old gelding that we all know as Louie took Lisa to her first NFR average title in 2014. Last year, they placed in eight out of the 10 rounds.

Lisa’s life outside of the rodeo arena revolves around her family. She and her husband Grady have three children, Alyssa, Thane, and Cade. When Lisa and Louie won the Cheyenne Frontier Days championship in 2015, the whole family was with her. They had been at the National Little Britches Rodeo Association finals where Alyssa won the senior girl’s championship in barrel racing.

Lisa won the 2015 Cheyenne Frontier Days Rodeo
Lisa won the 2015 Cheyenne Frontier Days Rodeo and her family was on hand to see her get her new buckle and awards – (c) by Dan Hubbell

Alyssa is off to college this fall at Black Hills State University, so the Lockharts will be adding college rodeos to their schedule whenever they can. They have already marked their calendar for Dec. 1 -10 as she will be making her 10th appearance at the NFR. With less than two months left in the season, Lisa is ranked fifth.

Lisa and Louie won the Calgary Stampede in 2015. This year, they selected her for the Guy Weadick Award, presented to one chuckwagon or rodeo contestant who embodies what the cowboy stands for, and who best typifies the spirit of the Calgary Stampede. Getting this in 2016 was an “amazing honor” for Lisa.

Barrel racing is important to this cowgirl, but not nearly as important as her family is. She plans every detail of her rodeo schedule with them in mind. And, somehow she manages it all with grace and a smile.

Favorite movie: I never go to the movies. There just isn’t time, but I really enjoy Forrest Gump.

Favorite current TV show: I don’t get to watch anything consistently but when I can I watch any of the CSI series.

Dogs or cats: That’s a hard one. We have 3 dogs and 13 cats. We have a lot of big fat barn cats. I just love animals. We have goats, ducks and a cockatiel. My kids love animals so we have a variety.

Favorite dessert: Chocolate PERIOD. Anything chocolate.

Favorite board or card game: Gestures. We always play it a Christmastime and we have found that a little beer helps you act things out a lot better.

 Favorite sport, other than rodeo: Anything my kids are playing – basketball, volleyball and football. I really enjoy basketball because it is something that I played, so I have a greater understanding. I’ve learned a lot about football.

If you weren’t in rodeo, what would you be doing: I can’t imagine anything but rodeo because it’s what I’ve done all of my life. Anything that I would do would involve horses, that’s for sure.Best gift you ever received: My FAMILY without a doubt, and that family would have to include Louie and my other horses too.

Lockhart family
Lockhart family – Family is number one for Lisa and that includes her husband, kids and all of the animals, but especially Louie.

Favorite thing you like about Las Vegas: Being at the NFR and the adrenalin rush competing for high stakes 10 nights in a row.

What do you like to do in your spare time: I seem to have a hard time finding that. With three kids who are very involved in athletics in school and rodeo in summer we stay busy. Between their schedule and mine, our free time is rest time.

What would you do if you won the lottery: We would buy some more land and invest it. But it would be fun to do something totally out of the box with my whole extended family, something that you would do, just to say you did it.

My role models are: Charmayne (James), Kristie (Peterson) and Sherry (Cervi) –they have all inspired me.

What would people be surprised to learn about you: That I’m a very emotional person and I cry easily, especially where matters of the heart are concerned.

Music: When you spend a lot of time behind the wheel, you listen to a lot of music, mostly 80s rock, pop and new country for me.

Best horse you’ve ever ridden: I’d be crazy if I didn’t say Louie. They each have amazing qualities and hold a special place in my heart. I’ve had the most success on Louie. He was 4 when I got him and he’s 13 now. It’s hard to believe that I’ve had him for 9 years.

Lisa and Louie
Lisa and Louie – This duo has a special bond.

Best thing about being a mom: There’s a million things. I can’t imagine life without my kids and family. It’s the greatest thing ever for a million reasons.

How do you name your horses: Basically we try to put a personality with their name. When they come to us with a name, we stick with it unless they absolutely don’t fit their names.

instagram-logo@team_lockhart twitter logoLockhartLisa

Leave a Reply

